CHINE - Fin Epoque YUAN (1279 - 1368) / Début Epoque Ming (1368 - 1644), XIVe siècle

Lot 88
Got to lot
Estimation :
120000 - 150000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 384 000EUR
CHINE - Fin Epoque YUAN (1279 - 1368) / Début Epoque Ming (1368 - 1644), XIVe siècle
■ Tray in red and black lacquer carved in the shape of a lotus flower, the inside carved with pistils and lotus fruit, surrounded by a frieze of crosspieces to end with a frieze of eleven lotus petals that overlap eleven other petals carved behind. The back decorated with a tixi pattern.
(Cracks).
On the reverse, the mark of Zhang Cheng zao on the needle.
Diam. 17,4 cm.
Japanese wooden box.

Reference:
- Similar tray in black lacquer but with incised mark of Yang Mao in the Edward T collection. Chow and illustrated in Lee Yu-kuan, Oriental Lacquer Art, Tokyo and New York, 1972, p. 166, no. 100; and another in the Seattle Art Museum, illustrated in Asiatic Art in the Seattle Art Museum, no. 137 (acc. n° 69.52).
- Similar red lacquer tray with the same brand reproduced in Chinese and associated Lacquer from the Garner Collection, British Museum, 2 October - 2 December 1973, plate 13, no. 31 a and b; and also illustrated in H. Garner, Chinese Lacquer, London,1979, p. 144, pls. 51 and 52.

Origin: Sotheby's London Sale, October 15, 1968, n°34.

CHINA - Late YUAN Dynasty (1279 - 1368) / Early MING DYNASTY (1368 - 1644), 14th/15th century
An exceptional carved black lacquer "lotus" tray. Zhang Cheng mark


To bid on this lot a deposit is required


The 14th century, the culmination of sumptuous lacquer carving, is illustrated here by a work by Zhang Cheng, one of the most famous artists of the late Yuan dynasty (1279-1368).

This was a crucial period in the history of lacquer in China because the talent of the great artist was combined with that of the technical virtuosity of the time. Under the Yuan, important technical and stylistic changes can be noted, particularly through the complexity of the forms and the deepening of the relief of the sculpture. According to Wang Zuo in Gegu Yaolun: "Under the Yuan dynasty, wealthy houses ordered lacquerware without imposing limits on the time of creation". The transition from the end of the Yuan dynasty (1279-1368) to the beginning of the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) is a major development in the art of carved lacquer. This one passes from a decorative art to an imperial production of high quality similar to the parallel development of blue white porcelain. The development of these arts led Emperor Yongle (1403-1424) to use these lacquers and porcelain as a diplomatic exchange with Japan. Indeed, the existence of high quality imperial production is suggested by an important Ming document consisting of a list of gifts from the court of the Emperor Yongle to the Shogun Ashikaga of Japan, beginning in the first year of Yongle's reign until at least 1407. He recorded a total of two hundred and three pieces of carved red lacquer to have been transmitted to the Japanese ruling class. However, the type of tray presented here was used to support a round box of the same decoration, a necessary tool for the tea ceremony in temples in Japan. This explains why some pieces with this type of shape, technique and decoration are found in different museums in Japan, and probably why the conservation box of this cup is Japanese.

This rare object could well be one of the last known works on living to the master. The reverse side, carved with "xiangcao" motifs inspired by the knobs of the first Chinese swords, is a typical feature of the Yuan era plateaus. Zhang Cheng worked in the Xitang district of Jiaxing, Zhejiang province, the central location for the manufacture of carved lacquer. Contemporary of the artist Yang Mao, lacquer artist, they are first mentioned in the Gegu Yaolun manual, a treatise on the collection and acquisition of antiquities written by Cao Zhao in 1388, later translated by Sir David Percival into the Chinese connoisseur ship, in London in 1971. Yuan floral dishes of this type are remarkable for the varied depths of the sculpture and the dynamism rendered. Among the different types of lacquer still present under the Yuan are tixi lacquers (known as rhinoceros skin). These can be black or red, with one or two layers of other colours included, or it can be composed of two or three colours of equal fineness.

Although Zhang Cheng is generally considered to be a craftsman of the Yuan dynasty (1279-1368), he most probably lived under Hongwu (1368-1398) and perhaps even in the early Yongle period.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CHINE - Fin Epoque YUAN (1279 - 1368) / Début Epoque Ming (1368 - 1644), XIVe siècle

Lot 88
Aller au lot
Estimation :
120000 - 150000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 384 000EUR
CHINE - Fin Epoque YUAN (1279 - 1368) / Début Epoque Ming (1368 - 1644), XIVe siècle
■ Plateau en laque rouge et noire sculpté en forme de fleur de lotus, l'intérieur sculpté de pistils et fruit de lotus, entouré d'une frise de croisillons pour se terminer avec une frise de onze pétales de lotus qui chevauchent onze autres pétales sculptées derrière. L'arrière orné d'un motif de tixi.
(Craquelures).
Au revers, la marque de Zhang Cheng zao à l'aiguille.
Diam. 17,4 cm.
Boîte en bois japonaise.

Référence:
- Plateau similaire en laque noire mais avec marque incisée de Yang Mao dans la collection Edward T. Chow et illustré dans Lee Yu-kuan, Oriental Lacquer Art, Tokyo and New York, 1972, p. 166, no. 100; et un autre dans le Seattle Art Museum, illustré dans Asiatic Art in the Seattle Art Museum, no. 137 (acc. n° 69.52).
- Plateau similaire en laque rouge avec la même marque reproduit dans Chinese and associated Lacquer from the Garner Collection, British Museum, 2 octobre - 2 décembre 1973, plate 13, n°31 a et b; et illustré également dans H. Garner, Chinese Lacquer, London,1979, p. 144, pls. 51 and 52.

Provenance: Vente Sotheby's Londres, le 15 octobre 1968, n°34.

CHINA - Late YUAN Dynasty (1279 - 1368) / Early MING DYNASTY (1368 - 1644), 14th/15th century
An exceptional carved black lacquer "lotus" tray. Zhang Cheng mark 

元末明初 剔犀蓮花紋盤


Pour participer aux enchères sur ce lot une caution est requise. 
To bid on this lot a deposit is required
如欲競拍此件拍品,請與本拍賣行聯繫,辦理相關競投手續。


Le XIVe siècle, point culminant du laque sculpté en termes de somptuosité, est ici illustré par une oeuvre de Zhang Cheng, l'un des artistes les plus réputés de la fin de la dynastie Yuan (1279-1368).

Il s'agit d'une période primordiale dans l'histoire du laque en Chine car s'allient le talent du grand artiste à celui de la virtuosité technique de l'époque. Sous les Yuan, l 'on peut noter d'importants changements au niveau de la technique et de la stylistique, particulièrement à travers la complexité des formes et de l'approfondissement dans le relief de la sculpture. Selon Wang Zuo dans le Gegu Yaolun: " Sous la dynastie des Yuan, les maisons aisées commandaient des objets en laque sans imposer de limites dans le temps de création". La transition entre la fin de la dynastie Yuan (1279- 1368) et le début de la dynastie Ming (1368-1644) témoigne d'une évolution majeure dans l'art du laque sculpté. Celui-ci passe d'un art décoratif à une production impériale de grande qualité similaire au développement parallèle de la porcelaine bleu blanc. Le développement de ces arts amène l'empereur Yongle (1403-1424), à utiliser ces laques et la porcelaine comme échange diplomatique avec le Japon. En effet, l 'existence d'une production de haute qualité impériale est suggérée par un important document Ming constitué d'une liste des cadeaux de la cour de l 'empereur Yongle au Shogun Ashikaga du Japon, commençant dès la première année du règne de Yongle jusqu'à au moins 1407. Il enregistre un total de deux cent trois pièces de laque rouge sculpté à avoir été transmises à la classe dirigeante japonaise. Or, le type de plateau présenté ici s'utilisait comme support d'une boite ronde de même décor, ustensile nécessaire à la cérémonie du thé dans les temples au Japon. Ceci explique pourquoi quelques pièces avec ce type de forme, technique et de décor se retrouvent dans différents musées au Japon, et sans doute pourquoi la boite de conservation de cette coupe est japonaise.

Cet objet rare pourrait bien être l 'une des dernières oeuvres connues sur vivant au maître. Le revers sculpté de motifs de « xiangcao » inspirés des pommeaux des premières épées chinoises, est une caractéristique typique des plateaux de l'époque Yuan. Zhang Cheng exerçait au sein du quartier de Xitang, à Jiaxing, dans la province de Zhejiang, lieu central de la fabrication du laque sculpté. Contemporain de l'artiste Yang Mao, artiste laqueur, ils sont cités pour la première fois dans le manuel du Gegu Yaolun, traité sur la collection et l'acquisition d'antiquités écrit par Cao Zhao, en 1388, traduit par la suite par Sir David Percival dans le Chinese connoisseur ship, à Londres en 1971. Les plats floraux Yuan de ce type sont remarquables par les profondeurs variées de la sculpture et le dynamisme rendu. Parmi les différents types de laque toujours présents sous les Yuan se trouvent les laque tixi (dit peau de rhinocéros). Celles-ci peuvent être noires ou rouges, avec une ou deux couches d'autres couleurs incluses, ou elle peut être composée de deux ou trois couleurs d'égale finesse.

Bien que Zhang Cheng soit généralement considéré comme un artisan de la dynastie Yuan (1279-1368), il a très probablement vécu sous Hongwu (1368-1398) et peut-être même au début de la période Yongle.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue