RENE LALIQUE (1860-1945)

Lot 8
Got to lot
RENE LALIQUE (1860-1945)

Medusa Exceptional pendant with three snakes in 18K yellow gold with enamel highlights with silver pebbles surrounding a medusa face in lost wax crystal paste re-polished in blue-green. In the lower part a baroque pearl hanging.


Signed Lalique for René Lalique


H : 11 cm Total gross weight : 78,17 g.


Unique piece


Estimate on request


Provenance: Former Elisabeth Taylor collection


René Lalique's themes of predilection are recurrent, whatever his field of creation. Although very different, the link between our pendant and the very rare "Cluny" vase is obvious, undeniable. The "Cluny" vase is all about material contrast and almost sobriety, just bronze and glass, while our pendant is exuberant with an extraordinary mix of technique and materials. In detail, we have a juxtaposition of gold, enamel with inclusions of silver pearls, a crystal paste made with re-polished lost wax and a very important baroque pearl, all to serve a composition that is reminiscent of Leonardo da Vinci's "Medusa".


The gorgons appear as winged creatures with disproportionate heads, protruding tongues, bared teeth and often with snakes on their heads or torsos. Of these, Medusa, who for the most part is simply called Gorgon, was the most terrible. She alone was deadly, which is why Perseus cut off her head. From her blood, impregnated by Poseidon, the winged horse Pegasus was born. The head of Medusa petrified all those who looked at it or touched it.


Art has long depicted her in a repulsive manner, but later artists began to depict her as beautiful, though terrifying, usually with wings above her temples and snakes in her hair. The best image representing the Gorgon Medusa is in the work of Caravaggio.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RENE LALIQUE (1860-1945)

Lot 8
Aller au lot
RENE LALIQUE (1860-1945)

Medusa Exceptionnel pendentif à monture figurant trois serpents en or jaune 18 carats à rehauts d'émaux à inclusions de paillons d'argent enserrant un visage de méduse en pâte de cristal à la cire perdue re-polie de couleur bleu-vert. En partie basse une perle baroque suspendue.


Signée Lalique pour René Lalique


H : 11 cm Poids brut total : 78,17 g.


Pièce Unique


Estimation sur demande


Provenance : Ancienne collection Elisabeth Taylor


Les thèmes de prédilections de René Lalique sont récurrents quelque soit le champ de création. Bien que très différents, le lien entre notre pendentif et le très rare vase «Cluny» est évident, indéniable. Le vase «Cluny» est tout en contraste de matériaux et presque sobre, juste en bronze et verre, alors que notre pendentif est exubérant avec un extraordinaire mélange de technique et de matériaux. En détail, nous avons une juxtaposition d'or, d'émail à inclusions de paillons d'argent, une pâte de cristal réalisée à la cire perdue re-polie et une très importante perle baroque, le tout pour servir une composition qui n'est pas sans rappeler la «Méduse» de Léonard de Vinci.


Les gorgones apparaissent comme des créatures ailées avec une tête disproportionnée, une langue saillante, des dents dénudées et souvent avec des serpents sur la tête ou le torse. Parmi celles-ci, la Méduse, qui pour la plupart est simplement appelée Gorgone, était la plus terrible. Elle seule était mortelle, c'est pourquoi Persée lui coupa la tête. De son sang, fécondé par Poséidon, le cheval ailé Pégase est né. La tête de Méduse a pétrifié tous ceux qui la regardaient ou la touchaient.


L'art l'a longtemps dépeinte d'une manière repoussante, mais plus tard, les artistes ont commencé à la dépeindre comme belle, bien que terrifiante, généralement avec des ailes au-dessus de ses tempes et des serpents dans ses cheveux. La meilleure image représentant la Méduse Gorgone est dans l'oeuvre du Caravage.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue