MARIN-MARIE (1901-1987)

Lot 62
Got to lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 57 600EUR
MARIN-MARIE (1901-1987)

The arrival of the liner Ile-de-France at the docks of New-York
Watercolour gouache, signed lower left
40 x 56 cm (on view)
ÎLE DE FRANCE Ile-de-France is a liner built in 1927 by the shipyards of Penhoët de Saint-Nazaire for the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique.
The liner is delivered on May 29, 1927 and starts its inaugural voyage between Le Havre and New York on June 22, becoming for a time the most beautiful liner on the Atlantic. The Île-De-France was nicknamed "The longest gangplank" in the United States during Prohibition, because alcohol flowed abundantly on board (it was forbidden on American liners) and thus made it possible to be immediately in France, the country of the "good life", well before arriving at destination. On board the liner, the carefree atmosphere of the Roaring Twenties and the inter-war period reigned. The liner continued its career without incident until the declaration of war on 3 September 1939.
Île-de-France was the first major French luxury ship project after the First World War. Quickly nicknamed the "Peace Street of the Atlantic", she opted for an Art Deco style. Many artists, architects and decorators collaborated in the creation of this new ambassador of the seas: Jean Dunand, René Lalique, Paul Landowski, Paule and Jules Leleu, Pierre Patout, Jacques-Émile Ruhlmann, Louis Süe, André Mare and Raymond Subes... Innovative in its technique, the ship represents at the time, the gastronomy and the art of living in the French way. Île-de-France had all the assets that ensured its triumph on the North Atlantic until the Second World War.
At each lunchtime and evening service, the 2,350 passengers on the Île-de-France could choose from 80 different dishes, while between meals, they could enjoy a wide range of entertainment, such as boxing matches, mini horse races and tennis matches.
A second life began for the ship during the war. Île-de-France joined the Free French Forces, then was requisitioned to transport troops and repatriate civilians from Indochina. He distinguished himself by saving 753 passengers from the Italian liner Andrea Doria, earning the nickname "Saint Bernard of the seas". In 1949, the liner makes a triumphant return on the Le Havre - New York line, after two years of works which deeply modernized her decoration and modified her silhouette. After 10 more years of service, she is finally sold in 1959 for dismantling to a Japanese company which, before her final destruction, rents her for the shooting of a disaster film, The Last Voyage.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

MARIN-MARIE (1901-1987)

Lot 62
Aller au lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 57 600EUR
MARIN-MARIE (1901-1987)

L'arrivée du paquebot Ile-de-France aux docks de New-York
Aquarelle gouachée, signée en bas à gauche
40 x 56 cm (à vue)
ÎLE DE FRANCE Ile-de-France est un paquebot construit en 1927 par les chantiers de Penhoët de Saint-Nazaire pour la compagnie générale transatlantique.
Le paquebot est livré le 29 mai 1927 et entame son voyage inaugural entre Le Havre et New York le 22 juin, devenant pour un temps le plus beau paquebot de l'Atlantique. L'Île-De-France est surnommé aux États-Unis «The longest gangplank» («la plus grande passerelle») pendant la Prohibition, car l'alcool coule à profusion à son bord (il est interdit sur les paquebots américains) et permet d'être ainsi immédiatement en France, le pays du «bien vivre», bien avant l'arrivée à destination. À bord du paquebot, il règne l'atmosphère sans souci des années folles et de l'entre-deux-guerres. Le paquebot poursuit sa carrière sans incident jusqu'à la déclaration de guerre le 3 septembre 1939.
Île-de-France incarne le premier grand projet de navire de luxe français après la Première Guerre mondiale. Rapidement surnommé la «rue de la Paix de l'Atlantique», il opte pour un style Art déco. De très nombreux artistes, architectes et décorateurs collaborent à la création de ce nouvel ambassadeur des mers, Jean Dunand, René Lalique, Paul Landowski, Paule et Jules Leleu, Pierre Patout, Jacques-Émile Ruhlmann, Louis Süe, André Mare ou encore Raymond Subes... Novateur dans sa technique, le navire représent à l'époque, la gastronomie et l'art de vivre à la française. Île-de-France rassemble tous les atouts qui assurent son triomphe sur l'Atlantique Nord jusqu'à la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
A chaque service du midi et du soir, les 2350 passagers de l'Île-de-France pouvaient choisir entre 80 mets différents tandis qu'entre les repas, de nombreuses distrac­tions s'offraient à eux comme des matchs de boxe, des courses de mini-chevaux ou des matchs de tennis.
Une deuxième vie commence pour lui en temps de guerre. Île-de-France rejoint la France Libre, puis est réquisitionné pour le transport de troupes et le rapatriement de civils depuis l'Indochine. Il s'illustre en sauvant 753 passagers du paquebot italien Andrea Doria, gagnant le surnom de «Saint Bernard des mers». En 1949, le paquebot fait un retour triomphal sur la ligne Le Havre - New York, après deux ans de travaux qui ont profondément modernisé son décor et modifié sa silhouette. Après 10 années supplémentaires de service, il est finalement vendu en 1959 pour démantèlement à une société japonaise qui, avant sa destruction finale, le loue pour le tournage d'un film catastrophe, The Last Voyage.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue