ZHANG XIAOGANG (1958)

Lot 51
Got to lot
Estimation :
120000 - 150000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 192 000EUR
ZHANG XIAOGANG (1958)

Portrait of a young woman, 1996

Oil on canvas, signed and dated 1996 lower right

40 x 30 cm


Provenance:

Schoeni Art Gallery, Hong-Kong (bears the stamp of this one on the frame)

Private collection, Europe



ZHANG XIAOGANG (1958)


Born in 1958 in Kunming, Yunnan Province, China, Zhang Xiaogang graduated from the Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts in 1982. Influenced by artists such as Vincent Van Gogh and Millet, he is recognized as one of the great figures of Chinese contemporary painting with committed paintings that question identity, otherness and memory.


In 1989, he had his first solo exhibition in China, at the Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts.


Zhang Xiaogang later made a name for himself on the international scene at the 1995 Venice Biennale, where he exhibited the first portraits of his now famous Bloodline Big Family series. These works show stylized characters connected by a red thread, whose poses are reminiscent of the Chinese tradition of family portraits of the Cultural Revolution, and the compositions of European surrealism. The artist often resorts to areas of bright colour, almost schizophrenically contrasting with the greyish monochrome hues of his paintings, as if to signify the deep generational and ideological fractures within Chinese society. These were soon considered the manifesto of a whole generation of Chinese artists and hailed as "portraits of the modern Chinese soul".


In 1999, he had his first solo exhibition abroad, in Paris, at the Galerie de France Les Camarades. Zhang subsequently organized solo exhibitions all over the world.


In 2008, he became the most sought-after Chinese contemporary artist of the moment thanks to a triptych from the Ullens collection sold for more than 10m$: Forever lasting Love (1988).


THE BLOODLINE SERIES

In 1993, Zhang Xiaogang began the Bloodline series, which includes some of the most emblematic images of Chinese contemporary art. It was marked by the discovery of family photographs - considered lost because many albums were destroyed during the Cultural Revolution. It is these images that inspired his paintings.


Through these portraits, he wanted to make the public feel the modern Chinese soul by focusing on a personal narrative and collective memory.


From 1996 onwards, the works in this series reached a mastery of rendering which, after the early 2000s, will no longer have this emotional intensity.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ZHANG XIAOGANG (1958)

Lot 51
Aller au lot
Estimation :
120000 - 150000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 192 000EUR
ZHANG XIAOGANG (1958)

Portrait de jeune femme, 1996

Huile sur toile, signée et datée 1996 en bas à droite

40 x 30 cm


Provenance :

Schoeni Art Gallery, Hong-Kong (porte le cachet de celle-ci sur le chassis)

Collection privée, Europe



ZHANG XIAOGANG  (1958)


Né en 1958 à Kunming, dans la province chinoise du Yunnan, Zhang Xiaogang est diplômé de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Sichuan en 1982. Influencé par des artistes tels que Vincent Van Gogh et Millet, il est reconnu comme l'une des grandes figures de la peinture contemporaine chinoise avec des peintures engagées qui questionnent l'identité, l'altérité et la mémoire.


En 1989, il fait sa première exposition solo en Chine, à l'Académie des Beaux-arts du Sichuan.


Zhang Xiaogang se fait connaître, par la suite, sur la scène internationale à l'occasion de la Biennale de Venise de 1995, où il expose les premiers portraits de sa désormais célèbre Bloodline Big Family series. Ces oeuvres qui montrent des personnages stylisés reliés par un fil rouge, dont les poses rappellent la tradition chinoise des portraits familiaux de la Révolution culturelle, et les compositions du surréalisme européen. L'artiste recourt souvent à des zones de couleurs vives, tranchant de façon quasi schizophrénique avec les teintes monochromes grisâtres de ses tableaux, comme pour signifier les fractures générationnelles et idéologiques profondes au sein de la société chinoise. Celles-ci sont rapidement considérées comme le manifeste de toute une génération d'artistes chinois et saluées comme des "portraits de l'âme chinoise moderne".


En 1999, a lieu sa première exposition solo à l'étranger, à Paris, à la Galerie de France Les Camarades. Zhang organise par la suite des expositions personnelles dans le monde entier.


En 2008, il devient l'artiste contemporain chinois le plus coté du moment grâce à un triptyque en provenance de la collection Ullens vendu pour plus de 10m$ : Forever lasting Love (1988).


LA SÉRIE BLOODLINE

En 1993, Zhang Xiaogang a débuté la série Bloodline, qui comprend certaines des images les plus emblématiques de l'art contemporain chinois. Il a été marqué par la découverte de photographies de famille - considérées comme perdues parce que de nombreux albums ont été détruits pendant la Révolution culturelle. Ce sont ces images qui ont inspiré ses peintures.


Il a voulu, à travers ces portraits, faire ressentir au public l'âme chinoise moderne en se concentrant sur un récit personnel et la mémoire collective.


A partir de 1996, les oeuvres de cette série atteignent une maîtrise du rendu de son travail qui, après le début les années 2000, n'aura plus cette intensité émotionnelle.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue