[LOBEL (Matthias de)

Lot 168
Got to lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 533EUR
[LOBEL (Matthias de)
Plantarum seu stirpium icones. Antwerp, Christophe Plantin, 1581]. 2 volumes in one vol. in-8 oblong, original brown calf, cold fillets in frame, spine ribbed, red slices; back redone, one bit and one hinge split, scratches, extensive restoration.
Rare work. First illustrated edition (816 and 280 pp.) of this collection representing all the plants known at the end of the 16th century; each page includes 1 to 3 woodcuts: nearly 2200 woods. The book ends with an important index (18 ff.) giving the names of the plants in seven languages.
The French names of the plants represented were added by hand in front of each wood. A board with a movable shutter, p. 69.
Blank sheet and missing title, replaced by a facsimile. Dirt, freckles, wetness, paper weakened in its margins with small lacks, some reinforcements. A colourful wood p. 293 Volume I and p. 2 Volume II
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

[LOBEL (Matthias de)

Lot 168
Aller au lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 533EUR
[LOBEL (Matthias de)
Plantarum seu stirpium icones. Anvers, Christophe Plantin, 1581]. 2 tomes en un vol. in-8 oblong, veau brun de l'époque, filets à froid en encadrement, dos à nerfs, tranches rouges; dos refait, un mors et une charnière fendus, griffures, importantes restaurations.
Rare ouvrage. Première édition illustrée (816 et 280 pp.) de ce recueil représentant toutes les plantes connues en cette fin du XVIe siècle; chaque page comprend 1 à 3 gravures sur bois: près de 2200 bois. L'ouvrage se termine par un important index (18 ff.) donnant les noms des plantes en sept langues.
Le nom français des plantes représentées a été ajouté à la main devant chaque bois. Une planche avec volet mobile, p. 69.
Feuillet blanc et titre manquant, remplacé par un fac-similé. Feuillets salis, rousseurs, mouillures, papier fragilisé dans ses marges avec petits manques, quelques renforts. Un bois colorié p. 293 tome I et p. 2 tome II
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue